Japan-aholic

A blog about culture and love in Japan

Earthquakes in Japan: Shindo Scale

4 Comments

Japan, the country where earthquakes occur everyday, has many tricks up in its sleeve to prevent and recover from those natural disasters. I didn’t know until very recently that Japan uses a different scale to measure earthquakes than does Canada, so I wanted to share that information with you guys!

Watch this video to know more about the Shindo ( 震度 ) scale, among other things.

Author: Jasmine

Jasmine is a 20-something years old French-Canadian student and part-time blogger who loves traveling, drawing, listening to (all kind of) music and eating (everything). To achieve one of her biggest dream, she went in Japan for two months and a half as a tourist in 2013. She was an exchange student at Daito Bunka University in Saitama (near Tokyo) during the year 2014 - 2015. She is now studying to eventually become a nurse back in Canada, so she lacks time to write about Japan. You can still read all her posts on her blog, since she'll let them there for you to enjoy :)

4 thoughts on “Earthquakes in Japan: Shindo Scale

  1. Nice video!
    I like having the shindo scale. I think it gives more detail than just magnitude (amount of energy released at the epicenter) because a lot of factors can affect the shaking felt at the surface.

    Here in Kyoto, we rarely get earthquakes. I lived here for a year in 2010 and never felt one! But since 2013 I have felt small ones about once a month…hm!

    My phone alarm has gone off only once, when I lived in Kobe. It beeped about a split-second before the shaking started. It was a 5 in magnitude and a shindo 4 because I was right near the epicenter! Panic. I couldn’t move or do anything…a very long 20 seconds!

    Like

    • I really like the Shindo scale too!
      It’s true that Kyoto has almost never any earthquakes! So lucky! Although the three weeks that I’ve lived there, I’ve had quite a big one (in 2013, the epicentre was in Shikoku if I remember correctly). Maybe I’m cursed? Hahaha

      Shindo 4 can be really scary!

      Like

  2. Ça doit être pénible quand l’alarme de 30 téléphones portables se mettent à hurler pendant un tremblement de terre, au boulot par exemple ou dans le train…. :p

    Like

    • Oui effectivement! Mon copain m’a dit que durant le tremblement de 2011, tous les téléphones portables de ses collègues se sont mis à hurler! Ça doit être paniquant O.o

      Like

Leave a Reply

