Japan-aholic

A blog about culture and love in Japan

Announcement: I’m Now On YouTube!

13 Comments

Hey guys!

Just a short post to introduce you to my brand new YouTube Channel!

I’ve been wanting to do videos for a lonnng time now, as some topics are hard to write about on a blog (especially since I have to put pictures every now and then to make it easier to read, but I haven’t got pictures that fit with every post I want to write).

So, here’s the introduction video!

It was sooo awkward to film this! I don’t really like watching myself on video — I look so weird and my accent is HORRIBLE, I’m so sorry guys, I honestly didn’t know it was that bad before filming!

By the way, I forgot to mention that I’ve been studying Japanese for about 2 years and a half now, but in that time for one year and a half I was either going to a Japanese class only once a week (taught in French) or just plainly not studying. So I don’t know if it really counts or not. Anyway, the most I’ve been learning is for the past 10 months here in Japan. When I arrived, I could barely understand what was going on around me and couldn’t speak much. Now… I get by!

I’ll make more videos in the future and post them here on my blog, so stay tuned!

Author: Jasmine

Jasmine is a 20-something years old French-Canadian student and part-time blogger who loves traveling, drawing, listening to (all kind of) music and eating (everything). To achieve one of her biggest dream, she went in Japan for two months and a half as a tourist in 2013. She was an exchange student at Daito Bunka University in Saitama (near Tokyo) during the year 2014 - 2015. She is now studying to eventually become a nurse back in Canada, so she lacks time to write about Japan. You can still read all her posts on her blog, since she'll let them there for you to enjoy :)

13 thoughts on “Announcement: I’m Now On YouTube!

  1. Good for you, Jasmine! Wish you luck with your new channel!

    Like

  2. Just curious to ask, is the French spoken in Quebue different than the French that is spoken in France? If yes, what’s the major difference.

    Like

    • It is indeed different!
      The easiest way to explain it is that French in Quebec is much more similar to the old French that was once spoken in France. In Québec, we use nasal sounds a bit more. French people also pronounce their “R” more strongly than in Québec. It’s mainly an accent difference (kind of like British VS American), but also expressions and words that we used. So sometimes, we can’t understand each other, although we have an easier time understand the French from France because we hear it through movies and such. But French people usually have a hard time understanding us if we don’t make any effort to speak an International French.

      Fun fact: every movies that are dubbed have a French and a Canadian-French dubbing, sometimes both vastly different! I personally can’t watch, for example, Disney movies or the Harry Potter series in French from France without laughing my head off or feeling weird!

      Like

  3. Your English speaking is just as good (and natural!) as your writing. Idk about anyone else, but I grew up in an area where everyone had a different accent (various Latin American accents were the most prevalent, but there was Southern, Long Island, British, etc. etc. too), so your way of speaking sounds 100% normal to me. Honestly, if I didn’t already know that English is a second language for you, I’d assume that English was as native to you as French.

    Anyway, I’m excited that you started a Youtube channel! You’ve obviously put some thought into how to make your videos interesting (intro credits, background music, and using cuts to make sure your topic stays on point), which I should help grow your reader/viewership. Good luck!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much ❤ Comments like yours warm my heart!
      I'm happy with my English level, but I do wish I could speak a bit better (I think the British accent is awesome!)
      Thank you for your support!

      Like

  4. Great video, I subscribed to your channel! Your blog has always been one of my favourite Japan blogs, so I’m looking forward to hearing more from you 😀

    Like

  5. Ah good for you! I will keep watching you videos! I have been thinking about making videos too, but I worry a lot about how judgmental people are. I hope that by the end of the year, I am brave enough to try it. Best of luck, I look forward to more.

    Like

    • I was sooo worried about it, too. That’s why I took so long to finally take the step and do it! Well, haters gonna hate, they say! 😉

      Like

    • I think it would be a lot of fun to make videos, too, (if I had the time haha), but I agree with you. Youtube commenters are scary! If you do end up making videos, though, be sure to let us know! I can only speak for myself, but I’d be interested to see what you would vlog about 🙂

      Like

  6. Don’t worry! You are pretty and I love your accent^^ you seem to have a gentle, calm personality so I can feel 癒される from the video. I will watch more if you make more!!

    Like

    • Awww I’m glad you felt that way!
      But I think it might be the nervousness and being awkward on camera… because normally, I’m a ball of energy hahaha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

