Japan-aholic

A blog about culture and love in Japan

Nightlife in Japan VS in Canada

9 Comments

A couple of days ago, I went to a Japanese club for the first time. I was surprised at how different it is from what I’m used to back in Canada, so I thought about doing a blog post about it. I might be wrong for a couple of things though, concerning the fact that I went to only one club in Japan, so some things might apply only to that place in particular, I wouldn’t know. Please tell me in the comments about your own experience in clubs in Japan!

First off, the club I went to is named “Atom” and is situated in the building called Dr. Jeekahn’s in Shibuya, Tokyo. It’s just in front of the famous prison-themed restaurant Alcatraz and is fairly near Shibuya station by walk.

I went on a Friday night before midnight, which means that, for women, the entrance fee was 1000 yen with two free drinks and one free ice cream of my choice — I’m very serious. I really recommend this place, it was amazing (not only for the ice cream!). Here’s a couple of differences I noticed from what I’m used to.

S__7094509

Sorry for the crappy quality!

 1. Each floor has its music genre (and the songs are old but gold!)

In Atom, there were three floors; the top was a hip-hop and rap floor, the middle was techno and pop, and the last one was a mix of smooth and pop music. And all those floors had those old songs I used to listen when I was a teenager. I kid you not when I say we danced on songs like “Crazy In Love” by Beyoncé, “Get Low” by Lil’ John, “2 Step” by UNK, and International Love (less old, but still) by Pitbull and Chris Brown. Don’t get me wrong, there was also some recent songs, but I was really happy to dance on older songs of my teenagehood!

2. The free cup of ice cream

It’s probably a special thing from Atom’s club, but it was really awesome. When you danced a lot and have fun, you get sweaty pretty quickly (don’t try to deny it!) so it’s nice to have some free ice cream of your choice!

3. The opening hours

In Québec (Canada), usually the clubs/bars close at 3 AM. In Japan, it’s a bit different.

The thing is, the last train of the day to go home is always around 11:00 or midnight, and the first train is around 5:00 in the morning. Accordingly, the clubs don’t close before 5 AM. So, in Japan, when you go for “a nightout”, you really do go for a nightout.

4. The “showtime” — aka a very beautiful woman in lingerie dancing on the stage for a couple of minutes

It’s exactly what it sounds like! Oddly enough, it was super fun and it really made the party go up a notch! She also gave some lightning sticks to the crowd during the show.

S__7094503

During showtime!

5. There are “Ladys’ Seat” everywhere

What’s that? Ladys’ Seat? I don’t know about you, but I had never heard/saw that anywhere before, let alone in a club. The Ladys’ Seats were actually a place where, obviously, only women can sit. There are tables and chairs and sofas, the area “secured” by a red ribbon joined by poles. You go there with your girls, and you feel like V.I.Ps (while some creepy men check you out like predators, but that’s another story).

Also, I don’t know about you all, but generally when I go to clubs, I go with my friends as a girls nightout of dancing and having fun together. Unfortunately, there are always some men who, even when you’re clearly not interested, keep wanting to dance with you/talk to you. Those Ladys’ Seats were awesome because we could have a break of that while drinking and relaxing. Although sometimes, some daring men take a step across the ribbon and have a bit of chat, but they would never fully step in the zone, and most of them didn’t dare to even talk to us. And sometimes, there was even enough place to dance, so we would just dance there instead of on the dancefloor full of drunk people trying to break your group to take a girl apart (yes, it happened).

It’s seriously an ingenious thing, and I don’t know why we don’t have that where I come from.

6. The free Hair Styling Room/Ladys’ Room

Just before the entrance for the pop music floor, there was this room where only ladies were accepted most of the time. But for about an hour, it was changed to a hair styling room, where you could go and one of the employees would curl your hair or make you an updo. Never saw that before!

________________________________________________________________________________

All in all, my experience was pretty amazing, so I’ll probably go for a nightout again this year! I’ll make sure to check if there’s any other differences at that time.

Author: Jasmine

Jasmine is a 20-something years old French-Canadian student and part-time blogger who loves traveling, drawing, listening to (all kind of) music and eating (everything). To achieve one of her biggest dream, she went in Japan for two months and a half as a tourist in 2013. She was an exchange student at Daito Bunka University in Saitama (near Tokyo) during the year 2014 - 2015. She is now studying to eventually become a nurse back in Canada, so she lacks time to write about Japan. You can still read all her posts on her blog, since she'll let them there for you to enjoy :)

9 thoughts on “Nightlife in Japan VS in Canada

  1. Don’t think it’s a Japanese thing. The different floors for different music genre, and horny men always trying to isolate a girl they fancy from her group, I think it is an Asian clubbing thing. Not so sure about the ice cream though, this is the first time I have heard of a club giving ice cream! It sounds awesome to me 😀

    Like

  2. Hair styling room sounds nice, I haven’t heard of that before!

    I have been to clubs in Sapporo and Sendai, which are a stretch in classiness compared to anything in Tokyo I imagine. There were good sides, but more bad sides, and these days I have no interest in those places. My least favorite things about clubs include the men who pull your friends away (I noticed this mainly to be non-Japanese men, but that was my experience) and DJs who use foghorns to transition songs.

    Foghorns should be banned from music, I just can’t stand it!

    Like

    • Generally, I also have absolutely no interest in those places. I prefer spending an evening at someone’s place and eat and drink together than pulling an all nighter! But that club was really a nice experience, I was surprised.
      The men who came talking to us were surprisingly always Japanese. I thought it would be mostly foreigners, but they just looked at us from afar, and that was it.
      Haha, foghorns are definitely awful! Didn’t hear any that night though!

      Like

  3. This club sounds a lot like on of the most popular clubs for foreigners in Beijing, at least it used to be one of the most popular ones! There it is all in one floor though, but there is a second floor but no dance floor on the second floor, only more VIP tables. They would also provide make up and perfume in the women bathroom, which is pretty awesome 😀

    Like

    • Makeup and perfume, really? Waw!
      Is it an Asian thing, then? I noticed that my Korean friends were not as impressed as I was in that club in Shibuya, so it might be!

      Like

      • Haha, I think it may be? or at least in some clubs, most of the “high class” clubs at least, the cheaper ones may not have it in Beijing but the more expensive ones got it! It’s so nice though, like u can just go and spray yourself with perfume whenever you want 😀 haha

        Like

  4. Heinnnnn ça a dont ben l’air chouette 😀 you had me at “ice cream” hahahah

    crime on s’ouvre de quoi comme ça à Quebec 😀 (principalement la partie Ladys seat xD)

    Like

Leave a Reply

