Japan-aholic

A blog about culture and love in Japan

Manga Chibi: Characters’ Presentation

4 Comments

Welcome to my new category called “Chibi Adventures”!

For those of you who don’t know, “Chibi” is like a manga character, but with less details and more childlike features. It’s really fun (and easier) to draw!

Side note: I’m not professionnal in drawing — obviously. So for those of you artists readers, I’m sorry in advance.

I decided to make these cute little manga characters after I saw two of my favorite bloggers, Texan in Tokyo and The Days of Hanako, do their own comics (check them out! Those blogs are amazing!). I totally loved the idea! I like to draw, but I never thought of using my blog to do it. I also think it’s great for a bit of a change; instead of always writing (long) posts, I can draw my own comics and use it to explain some interesting things I’ve discovered in Japan — or funny moments that happened in my love life.

Let’s start with a quick presentation of the two main characters, Jasmine (me) and Hitomi (my boyfriend).

wpid-cymera_20140411_165058.jpg image

Are you ready for the Chibi Adventures?

Author: Jasmine

Jasmine is a 20-something years old French-Canadian student and part-time blogger who loves traveling, drawing, listening to (all kind of) music and eating (everything). To achieve one of her biggest dream, she went in Japan for two months and a half as a tourist in 2013. She was an exchange student at Daito Bunka University in Saitama (near Tokyo) during the year 2014 - 2015. She is now studying to eventually become a nurse back in Canada, so she lacks time to write about Japan. You can still read all her posts on her blog, since she'll let them there for you to enjoy :)

4 thoughts on “Manga Chibi: Characters’ Presentation

  1. Wow, these are neat cartoons! You did a great job Jasmine!

    Like

  2. I’m really excited for this 🙂

    I started drawing comics after I fell in love with the Days of Hanako comics. They’re so cute. And it’s MUCH easier to tell a story through drawing than writing (and is a nice break from regular posting)

    Like

    • Thanks! 😀
      The Days of Hanako comics are so funny! I like it because it’s great to have another point of view (Asian woman/White man instead of AMWF). And since I live in Canada, I can relate to some things she says.
      Anyway, I think it’s a great idea that you had to mix them both (posts AND comics)! Sorry, I feel a bit like I’m stealing your idea. I probably wouldn’t have think of doing that ever! So it’s thanks to you for making me see the potential of having a blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

